فندق Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel, Freetown

جزيرة بونس


تُعد جزيرة بونس مكانًا مذهلاً ومتواضعًا، وهي واحدة من 40 قلعة، أو مراكز تجارية محصنة، شيّدها التجار الأوروبيون على طول ساحل غرب أفريقيا، ويرجع ذلك إلى في القرن الثامن عشر خلال فترة تجارة الرقيق عبر المحيط الأطلسي. وخلال هذا الوقت، وقع عشرات الآلاف من الأفارقة الأصليين في الأسر، وسُجنوا وحُملوا على متن السفن التي كان من المقرر أن تبحر في رحلات عبر المحيط الأطلسي من خلال الممر الأوسط إلى أمريكا. وقد كان السعي وراء الأفارقة تحديدًا من سيراليون للاستفادة من مهاراتهم في زراعة الأرز، لإرسالهم إلى مستعمرات أمريكا الجنوبية في كارولينا الجنوبية وجورجيا.

نصب تذكاري وطني
شهد عام 1808 نهاية زمن العبودية والرق في جزيرة بونس، ولكن لم يُطبق ذلك على أرض الواقع حتى عام 1840؛ حيث هُجرت القلعة بالكامل وظلت غير مأهولة بالسكان حتى يومنا هذا. وفي عام 1948، أُعلنت جزيرة بونس نُصبًا تذكاريًا وطنيًا. ومما يدعو للأسف، ساد الخراب القلعة، فقد انهار العديد من جدرانها بفعل نمو النباتات الاستوائية فوقها. ومع ذلك، لا يزال هناك دليل صامد على ماضيها المروّع تلمسه بينما تتجول حول الأرض لتجد المقابر الأوروبية، والعديد من القطع الأثرية التي تشمل مدفعًا يحمل تاج الملك جورج الثالث.

معرض إعلامي متميز
يتكون معرض جزيرة بونس من لوحات تفسيرية مترجمة، وتحكي هذه اللوحات قصة التجار الأوروبيين، والأفارقة الذين وقعوا في الأسر، وذلك من خلال الرسومات التي تجسّد الفترات الزمنية في القلعة على مر سنوات مضت، والصور التي تروي أخبار عصر تجارة الرقيق، في كل من سيراليون وأمريكا الشمالية، كما تحتوي أيضًا على مقتطفات مكتوبة تم اكتشافها منذ ذلك الوقت خلال هذا العصر. لم يكن فن التصوير الفوتوغرافي موجودًا في القرن السابع عشر، ولذلك، لا يوجد أي دليل فوتوغرافي شاهد على هذا العصر، وكبديل لذلك، تُظهر الصور والمعلومات الأثرية المُعدّة بالحواسيب شكل الحياة على جزيرة بونس في عام 1805، ويكتمل هذا العرض الساحر مع مقطع فيديو يدعمه ويدلل على روعته.

تقف هذه الجزيرة خير شاهد على ذكرى الرجال والنساء والأطفال الذين تحملوا ويلات العبودية، وتمثل حكاية الصمود والشجاعة للروح البشرية. لا تبعُد جزيرة بونس كثيرًا عن مدينة فريتاون، فلا تفوّت الذهاب إليها في جولة نهارية مثيرة وغنية بالمعلومات. سيسعد طاقم عمل فندق Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel, Freetown بتقديم يد العون لك ومساعدتك في التخطيط لجولتك هنا

See More

See All

Close

Bunce Island

Bunce Island is an incredible and humbling place. It is one of 40 castles, or fortified trading posts, built along the West African coast, by European merchants. This was in the 18th century during the period of Atlantic slave trade. During this time, tens of thousands of native Africans were captured, imprisoned and loaded aboard ships that were set to make the transatlantic journey through the middle passage to America. Africans specifically from Sierra Leone were sought after for their rice growing skills and sent to the southern American colonies of South Carolina and Georgia.

A National Monument
Slavery on Bunce Island was abolished in 1808, but it actually wasn’t until 1840 that the fort was completely abandoned, and it remains uninhabited to this day. In 1948, Bunce Island was declared a national monument. Sadly, the castle now lies in ruin. Many of its walls have collapsed with tropical vegetation growing over them. However, there is still evidence of its harrowing past as you walk around the grounds and find the European graveyard, and various artefacts including a cannon with the crest of King George III on it.

Informative Exhibit
Bunce Island’s exhibit is made up of interpretation panels. The display tells the story of the European Merchants and the Africans that were kept in captivity. This is done through period drawings of the castle over time, and pictures illustrating the slave trade era, both in Sierra Leone and North America. It also contains written extracts that have since been discovered from this era. During the 17th century photography did not exist. As a result there is no photographic evidence. Instead computer-generated images and archaeological knowledge present how life on Bunce Island would have been in 1805. There is also a video to accompany the display.

This island stands as an incredible testament to the memory of the men, women and children who endured slavery and it represents a tale of the resilience of human spirit and courage. Bunce Island is not far from Freetown but makes for an interesting and informative day trip. Staff at the Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel, Freetown will be able to assist you with planning your trip here

Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel, Freetown – 
17 Lumley Beach Road, Aberdeen, –  Freetown –  Sierra Leone – 
Phone  +232 79454000
8.492438 -13.289835