فندق Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel, Freetown

محمية الشمبانزي في تاكوغاما


تُعد حيوانات الشمبانزي من الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض التي تحظى بمكانة خاصة في قلوبنا، وذلك بسبب ذكائها، فضلًا عن قرب حمضها النووي من الحمض النووي البشري، كما تتميز حيوانات الشمبانزي باللعب والمرح.

تنتظرك محمية الشمبانزي المذهلة في تاكوغاما، والتي تتميز بموقعها في قلب الحدود الساحرة لحديقة Western Area National Park. اُفتتحت المحمية في عام 1995، على الرغم من أن القصة بدأت قبل ذلك بفترة طويلة، ففي عام 1988، اشترى كل من بالا وشارميلا أميراسيكاران، المالكان، شمبانزي مريضًا في الشارع واعتنيا به جيدًا حتى استعاد صحته وعافيته مجددًا، وكانت هذه التجربة المثيرة نقطة التحول في حياتهما؛ حيث ازداد شغفهم ومعرفتهم بهذه الحيوانات، وسرعان ما تملكتهما مشاعر الحزن والأسى مع اكتشاف المخاطر التي تواجهها حيوانات الشمبانزي في سيراليون، وكيفية معاملة البشر لها، ومن هنا ظهر عملهم الشاق، على مر السنين، من خلال تشييد هذه المحمية التي تقف اليوم شامخة.

مهمة المحمية
تتمثل مهمة المحمية في إنقاذ ورعاية وتأهيل الشمبانزي اليتيم أو المنبوذ، ويأتي بعد ذلك الهدف الأسمى، وهو إعادته إلى موائله الطبيعية، في البرية، والسماح للنوع بالتكاثر والازدهار. تضم سيراليون ثاني أعلى نسبة من حيوانات الشمبانزي الغربية في العالم، ولأنها من الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض، فمن المهم حمايتها. كما يلعب التعليم والمحافظة على الطبيعة في المحمية دورًا كبيرًا.

جولات زاخرة بالمعلومات
توفّر المحمية جولتين بصحبة مرشدين يوميًا؛ حيث يمكنك الاستمتاع بمشاهدة هذه الحيوانات الجميلة والتعرّف على كل شيء عنها، من التربية والتغذية إلى الرعاية وكيفية التواصل معها. احرص على الاتصال هاتفيًا للحجز المسبق لتضمن الاستمتاع بجولتك. سوف يصحبك المرشدون السياحيون ذوو الخبرة والشغوفون بعملهم حول ممرات المشاة في الحديقة. تتزامن الجولات مع أوقات تقديم الطعام للحيوانات، ويمنحك ذلك فرصة مثالية لرؤية الحيوانات في قمة نشاطها.

يغطي هذا الملاذ من الغابات المطيرة 100 فدان من محمية الغابات الجبلية، ويقع على بُعد 40 دقيقة من مدينة فريتاون وRadisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel, Freetown، بَعد منتجع ريجنت الجبلي التاريخي. يسافر الناس من جميع أنحاء العالم ليحظوا بفرصة رؤية هذه الأنواع الرائعة، فلا تفوتك هذه الفرصة عند الإقامة في هذه المنطقة.

See More

See All

Close

Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary

Chimps are one endangered species that has captured our hearts, because of their intelligence, closeness to human DNA, and their playfulness.

Set in the stunning boundaries of the Western Area National Park you will find the incredible Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary. The sanctuary opened in 1995, although the story started long before that. In 1988, the owners, Bala and Sharmila Amerasekaran, bought a sick chimpanzee on the street and nursed it back to health. This was a life altering experience as their fondness and knowledge of these animals grew. Sadly, they discovered the dangers that chimpanzees face in Sierra Leone and how they are treated in captivity. Over the years their hard work transpired into the creation of the sanctuary that stands today.

The Sanctuary’s Mission
The sanctuary’s mission is to rescue, care for and rehabilitate orphaned or abandoned chimpanzees. The end goal is to release them back into their natural habitat - the wild, and allow the species to thrive. Sierra Leone has the second highest population of Western Chimpanzees in the world, and as they are an endangered species it is important they are protected. At the sanctuary education and conservation play a large role.

Informative Tours
The sanctuary offers two guided tours daily where you can see these beautiful animals for yourself and learn all about them, from breeding to feeding, care and socialising. Make sure you phone and book in advance to avoid disappointment. Knowledgeable tour guides, who clearly have a passion for the work they do, will guide you around the park’s footpaths. Tours coincide with feeding times which gives you the best opportunity to see the residents in action.

This rainforest haven covers 100 acres of the hilly forest reserve. It is located 40 minutes from Freetown and the Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel, Freetown, past the historic mountain resort of Regent. People travel from all over the world for the opportunity to see this magnificent species. Make sure you take the opportunity when staying in the area.

Radisson Blu Mammy Yoko Hotel, Freetown – 
17 Lumley Beach Road, Aberdeen, –  Freetown –  Sierra Leone – 
Phone  +232 79454000
8.492438 -13.289835