Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Reviews

See what other travelers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 1317 traveler reviews

#29 of 54 hotels in Reykjavik

Excellent

452

Very Good

590

Average

179

Poor

60

Terrible

36
Business
146
Couples
634
Solo travel
52
Family
228

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • If you want a quieter room ask for one overlooking courtyard or on upper floor. (Georgia62uk)
    Wed Oct 18 01:51:11 CDT 2017
  • There were a few steps in our room, so any travelers who would prefer no steps should check in advance. (nyceve2017)
    Tue Oct 03 05:15:52 CDT 2017
  • Quieter rooms face the inner court - only three per floor. (KR-ORD)
    Mon Oct 02 17:29:07 CDT 2017
  • best views (HannahKate96)
    Mon Oct 02 12:07:07 CDT 2017
  • Far from luxury with a luxury price. (Christine L)
    Sat Sep 30 18:17:37 CDT 2017
Traveler Photos
1919 Restaurant & Lounge at the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
The Business Class Room at the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Street at the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Lobby at the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Stairs at the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

T3972NGsusans
Stamford, United Kingdom

"Lovely hotel"

Reviewed September 25, 2017     Trip type:  Couples

Great service, the staff were very attentive, the breakfast buffet was varied. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel. Being happy n the top floor our room was quiet and the bed lovely and comfortable.

Read more  

Stayed October 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review  September 26, 2017

Dear T3972NGsusans, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for letting us be part of your Icelandic experience. It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Whenever you return to Reykjavik we would love to welcome you back. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

AlanZ07
Portland, Oregon

"Excellent hotel location"

Reviewed August 18, 2017     Trip type:  Couples

We have stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and we are glad we stayed here again. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are very accommodating and helpful. The room provides black out curtains - which are a must in the summer. We will definitely stay here again.

Read more  

Stayed September 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review  August 22, 2017

Dear AlanZ07, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for choosing us again. It was a pleasure to welcome you back. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to be your home away from home in the future again. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

CSmart_Edin
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

"Central and cozy"

Reviewed August 09, 2017     Trip type:  Solo travel

A good central hotel with a bus stop right outside the door which makes getting to/from the airport easy as well as pick up for tours etc. The hotel is clean and tidy though the rooms are smaller than usual for the brand. No air conditioning in the rooms, just heating, though the windows open and fans are available from reception. I found that an open window and a fan was sufficient for a good night's sleep. Being central there is a risk of street noise, but I wasn't affected by this even with the window open.

Read more  

Stayed September 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

, Room Division Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review  August 10, 2017

Dear CSmart_Edin,Thank you for posting your review. We truly appreciate your feedback as it will help to improve our operation. With very kind regards Bergþóra Bjarnadóttir.

Kevin S

"Horrible."

Reviewed July 14, 2017     Trip type:  Friends getaway

This was the worst trip I've ever endured. The hotel is great-wonderful service and staff but the construction work that is currently being done on the street below is deafening-sounds like they are cutting through metal since 8AM until.... there has not been one minute of peace and quite here. After the first day I had a pounding headache. I can't believe others aren't posting about this. Please save your money and research your stay to make sure this construction isn't going on right outside your window ALL day. I love the hotel but this nuisance ruined my trip and many other guests I'm assuming. I know this is no fault of the hotel, but I am disappointed that I'm paying top rate for this.

Read more  

Stayed August 2017

Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review  July 16, 2017

Dear Kevin S, Thank you very much for psoting your review. Thank you as for choosing the 1919 as home away from home. Indeed it is out of our hands wha kind of contruction is happeing in downtown Reykjavik. This being saud and because I am truly valuing you as a guest may i ask you to contact me directly on marc.eberhard@radissonblu.com to find a solution that will suit you. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

amyinmd
maryland

"Great location, hot stuffy room"

Reviewed July 14, 2017     Trip type:  Family

You really can't beat this location. It's right in the middle of everything and you can walk everywhere to restaurants, shops, harbor, etc. The included breakfast was great. They make you latte's, cappuccino's, etc. and will cook eggs to order. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and every tour just picked us up right at the door. I couldn't have picked a better spot. The one drawback, and it could just be the 5th floor - the windows all face up to the sky, not out to the city. The room was uncomfortably hot. We had to lay on the covers and really dreaded coming back at night. The window offered no ventilation into the room because of how it was situated and there was no fan or way to circulate the air. Request a lower floor, it may be better.

Read more  

Stayed August 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review  July 15, 2017

Dear amyinmd, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for allowing us to be aprt of your Icelandic experience. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stau with us. Whenever you return to Reykjavik we would love to welcome you back. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC