Our hotel is closed during the following period: 22.12.17 – 02.01.18.
Aerial view of Ålesund

Radisson Blu Hotel, Ålesund

Reviews

See what other travelers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu Hotel, Ålesund and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 538 traveler reviews

#5 of 12 hotels in Alesund

Excellent

138

Very Good

250

Average

113

Poor

31

Terrible

6
Business
151
Couples
202
Solo travel
24
Family
78

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • ask for a sea view (gina186337)
    Thu Sep 28 14:06:50 CDT 2017
  • water view (carrieul)
    Sun Sep 10 13:42:17 CDT 2017
  • Nothing special about their rooms. Very standard even the business class room, the only difference it has a Nespresso maker. (WilmaPr)
    Tue Aug 22 16:15:38 CDT 2017
  • go for ocean view on higher floor (VJ2011)
    Mon Jul 10 11:07:22 CDT 2017
  • Ask to have renovat room. If that not available, ask for bussiness class room. (unsern)
    Tue Feb 14 21:46:55 CST 2017
Traveler Photos

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

jutaaavik
Oslo, Norway

"The worst experience and disappointment of a lifetime. Avoid booking this hotel with Clubcarlson points!"

Reviewed September 05, 2017     Trip type:  Couples

I have literally never been so disappointed at my hotel that it had ruined even the destination Alesund totally for me. I have booked the hotel with my Clubcarlson points only because of the advertisements about the great views to the fjord and I have noted at my booking that the fjord view is important for me. When we arrived, then no rooms with fjord view was available and we where offered a business class room. I asked if we can get a standard room with the view and explained that this was the reason we booked the hotel. The reception said that they have rooms with views but that they could not upgrade us!! What a joke indeed! The business class room where we had to stay had only ceiling windows and felt like a cave. We did not have a view to the city either and it was claustrophobic, difficult and unpleasant to stay in this room with no real windows. This hotel ruined my Alesund experience as I was really disappointed and the business class room we got was unbearable . This experience has totally ruined also my trust on Clubcarlson system and I believe now that all Clubcarslon members will get a bad treatment at Alesund Radisson as they try to get you to pay money on top of your points. Horrible experience!

Read more  

Stayed August 2017

Value

Location

Service

AinaBjerkvik, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review  September 07, 2017

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. We are sincerely sorry that it did not meet your expectations and we will evaluate what went wrong this time. I have investigated a little, and the reception tells me that the day in question, we had 128 rooms booked out of 131 and all rooms with seaview were reserved. The receptionist was actully right when telling you that they were not able to upgrade you to a room with seaview this evening, this was actually not a joke. In fact, the only upgraded room left was Business Class that you were given, unfortunately without a seaview. Our guests often send us notes about wanting seaview, and we offer this when there is avaliability, but during high season these rooms are sold in advance to higher prices. We are not able to give these rooms free of extra charge. CC membership has some advantages indeed, such as upgradings within the same roomcategory. On the other hand, we will look into or routines around CC members for future reservations, since you are indeed imprtant guests for us. I hope you will give us a second chance and if so, you are most welcome back! Best regards Aina Aalen Bjerkvik/General Manager

gunnar910

"Treatment of Club Carrlson Gold member"

Reviewed July 16, 2017     Trip type:  Family

Had a very poor experience during a Club Carlson Gold member bonous stay. No upgrade, not able to check in at saturday 13.00, no room upgrade, smallest room I have seen, no late check-out. Lies and poor excueses from the respetion personnel.

Read more  

Stayed August 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

AinaBjerkvik, Daglig leder at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review  July 18, 2017

Dear Gunnar, First of all, we are sorry for the poor experience you had when staying with us recently and I believe we have given you our apologies already by email yesterday. As a CC Gold Member, one is entitled to an upgraded room within the same category, and since the reservation was a standard room, we were able to acommodate you and your wife in a superior room with seaview. This room is not among the largest for sure, but the view is considerably better than in most standard rooms. During the summer season, all hotels in Ålesund are fully booked on a daily basis, and this gives us few opportunuties to grant early/late check-in/out due to the time needed for cleaning the rooms before next arrival. This is the reason why we could not give you this service and our personel were telling the truth. We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience, and hope that you will give us a second chance sometime in the future. Best regards from Aina Aalen Bjerkvik General Manager

Jack N
Warwick, United Kingdom

"My favourite hotel in Aalesund"

Reviewed July 13, 2017     Trip type:  Business

I first choice is the Radisson mainly due to the friendliness of its staff. They are always friendly and helpful. The hotel is also well placed in the town and easy to get parked if you are driving. The only issue for me as a person who does not sleep very well when travelling is the sound of the Hurtigruten docking. However, ear plugs help!

Read more  

Stayed August 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

AinaBjerkvik, Daglig leder at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this review  July 16, 2017

Dear Jack, Thank you very much for your nice review from your recent stay with us at Radisson Blu in Ålesund, we highly aprreciate this. It makes me epecially happy to read your mentioning of the friendly staff. This is exceptionally important for us as a hotel and we work hard to give our guests the best of service. Thank you sincerely and you are most welcome back sometime in the future! Best regards Aina Aalen Bjerkvik/General Manager

976antonic
Alesund, Norway

"Excellent location and room"

Reviewed December 21, 2016     Trip type:  Business

Located at the very center of Alesund, you can go walking to the main street and also to the stairs for going up to the gazer. Big and comfortable room and a nice breakfast. Nothing to complain about during my stay.

Read more  

Stayed January 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Gøran F

"Old hotel with bad rooms and showers"

Reviewed November 29, 2016     Trip type:  Business

Rating of this hotel seems good. The hotel and location looked good in the website pictures. But I was very wrong. The staff seemed to be real newbies. The rooms where terrible and the showers. Hotel had a old smell in the rooms. Will never book this hotel again.

Read more  

Stayed December 2016

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC