Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Reviews

See what other travellers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 1852 traveler reviews

#7 of 9 hotels in Athlone

Excellent

697

Very Good

599

Average

316

Poor

130

Terrible

110
Business
327
Couples
736
Solo travel
49
Family
348

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • Avoid rooms on the top floor in hot weather (JulianM186363)
    Sun May 27 04:20:28 CDT 2018
  • 4th floor was very quiet and peaceful (Liam G)
    Thu May 17 13:00:32 CDT 2018
  • Ask for a room with a river view. Worth it! (Anna70990)
    Tue May 15 10:33:20 CDT 2018
  • River view rooms are worth the extra. (dustylin)
    Thu May 03 12:48:24 CDT 2018
  • Ask for river view. (Xzanti)
    Sun Mar 18 03:55:00 CDT 2018
Traveler Photos
Front Desk at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
The Suite at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Elements Restaurant at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Quay Side Bar at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Quay Side Bar at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

659jeanettey

"lovely hotel, excellent service"

Reviewed July 18, 2016     Trip type:  Couples

Stayed in the Raddison Blu last week, had only intended staying one night, but enjoyed the hotel so much we extended our stay for an extra night. Food in the Quay Bar is excellent, staff are so friendly, couldn't do enough for you. Special mention to Darren in the Bar, commendable service from a lovely young man, he is a credit to the company.

Read more  

Stayed July 2016

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  July 26, 2016

Dear 659jeanettey, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are all genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your comments and I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Athlone. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General Manager

sabiner737
Munich, Germany

"What a wonderful oasis!"

Reviewed July 15, 2016     Trip type:  Couples

The Radissonblue Athlone has become our favorite Irish Hotel where we love to stop for a certain instance after being travelled through this amazing country. The magic view down upon the streaming river is too nice to sit or lay down... The reception crew does a brilliant and always very welcoming job, the breakfast is 'pyramidal' as well as the crispy chicken wings in the bistro, which includes a splendid place outside above the river. May be the service over there could become a little more temperament-full and attentif - but the season was still starting... Even the animals love this place and seem to feel the sympathic atmosphere- so that in springtime a friendly duck named 'Suzi' built her nest in the center of the big terrasse (just covered by some green branches) and got four children which later were carefully moved down to the river by the staff to arrive safely in their element. So I recommend this Hotel to anybody who's loving light and water and a great accomodation - only a few steps into the center with its shops and pups etc.. We hope to be back there in a short while - Thanks to all who made us feel so much at home there!

Read more  

Stayed June 2016

Rooms

Sleep Quality

Service

Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  July 26, 2016

Dear Sabiner737 Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us recently. I was delighted to read your wonderful comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel and I have shared them with all my colleagues. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a stay as much as you did and I am glad you felt so warmly welcomed and like at home. We look forward to the occasion when you next stay. Thank you again for your kind words. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General Manager

Maria Belen Rab... V
Athlone, Ireland

"Lucky"

Reviewed July 11, 2016     Trip type:  Business

We booked a room at €114 for one night in this hotel. I looked at the pictures and I was happy to go ahead with my booking. The room was actually ok, but not quite the same as I had seen in the pics. The door of our room was not working properly, so we were given another room, a business class room, which was exactly as the one you can see on the hotel's website. I'd have liked to know exactly the room I was getting. The room we got was lovely, everything was clean and modern, with an excellent view, quite different from the room we originally booked. I guess we were lucky!

Read more  

Stayed July 2016

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  July 26, 2016

Dear Maria Belen, Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us. I was so happy to read that you had such a positive and pleasurable stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC