Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Reviews

See what other travellers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 1727 traveler reviews

#7 of 9 hotels in Athlone

Excellent

642

Very Good

553

Average

306

Poor

123

Terrible

104
Business
304
Couples
688
Solo travel
48
Family
317

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • ask to see your room (64johnny1949)
    Thu Oct 19 01:45:31 CDT 2017
  • Ask for view of the Shannon (DesperateHouseWife50)
    Tue Oct 03 11:27:45 CDT 2017
  • Great location (NiamhCrowley)
    Sun Sep 24 02:44:58 CDT 2017
  • Ask for a room overlooking the Shannon (MariaK638ET)
    Mon Sep 18 06:56:13 CDT 2017
  • A room in another hotel might be wise (Annietrip62)
    Wed Sep 06 08:33:33 CDT 2017
Traveler Photos
Front Desk at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
The Suite at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Elements Restaurant at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Quay Side Bar at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Quay Side Bar at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

Anthony P

"management dont lisen"

Reviewed January 27, 2015     Trip type:  Couples

rooms to hot cant get chilled wine fridge broke last two years.location on river fantastic. athlone is a lovely place lots to do . walks along the river. Viking boat trips.one must have a visit to athlone castle.

Read more  

Stayed February 2015

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  April 10, 2015

Dear anthonypS1937NN, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay at the Radisson Blu Athlone. Our town has become well recognised as a destination for leisure travellers. With a wonderful array of bars, restaurants, shops, cultural and historical offerings both within walking and easy driving distance and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed some of these aspects to Athlone. However, I’m very disappointed to hear that the room was too warm for you and the fridge in your room was not working during you stay. I can assure you that this is not the standard we would hope to deliver to our guests here at the Radisson Blu Athlone. I will pass along your comments to our maintenance team and rectify this issue without delay. Many thanks for your review and I hope this will not deter you from visiting the hotel in the future and we really look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Sinead Marron General Manager

Kenneth L
Leixlip, Ireland

"business trip"

Reviewed October 11, 2014     Trip type:  Business

Very comfortable hotel, excellent food and bar service Room facilities are what you would expect from a five star hotel. Would recommend and will return when next in the area. Quick check in and out process River view rooms are well appointed

Read more  

Stayed November 2014

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  November 14, 2014

Hi, Kenneth L, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us in the Radisson Blu Athlone. It is encouraging to hear that the service you received from us exceeded your expectations. I am delighted the Business class room with the stunning view of the River Shannon was to your liking. Thank you also for your wonderfully positive comments about our staff. I am thrilled to know that you found our staff at reception is very efficient. I will be passing along your praise to all our staff. I am look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in your future business trip. Kind regards, Sinead Marron General Manager

andre b
Exeter, United Kingdom

"Recent stay"

Reviewed April 11, 2014     Trip type:  Business

Always a warm and friendly greating from the staff with a beautiful location on the banks of the Shannon. An ideal venue for a holiday and close to the main industrial estates for buiness. Breakfast is normally a buffet with a pancake maker that you select yourself for instant fresh pancakes. If it is a special occasion the rooms which look out over the River are fantastic. Also just a few minutes walk to Shauns bar, the oldest in Ireland and in the Guiness book of records. Fantastic restaurants, all close with varied pricing.

Read more  

Stayed May 2014

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  April 17, 2014

Hi andre b, Thank you to taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially our breakfast buffet and I’m glad to hear you liked our fresh pancakes. Indeed Seans Bar is the oldest bar in Ireland, very often visited by our guests and we also have our own Quayside Lounge overlooking the River Shannon. We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Kind Regards, Sinead Marron General Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC