Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Reviews

See what other travellers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 1752 traveler reviews

#7 of 9 hotels in Athlone

Excellent

649

Very Good

563

Average

312

Poor

125

Terrible

104
Business
309
Couples
693
Solo travel
48
Family
326

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • Ask for a room with the view to the Shannon (Michaela A)
    Fri Nov 17 09:41:12 CST 2017
  • Higher floor might be less noisy. Surcharge for river view. (Norastor)
    Mon Oct 23 13:50:34 CDT 2017
  • ask to see your room (64johnny1949)
    Thu Oct 19 01:45:31 CDT 2017
  • Ask for view of the Shannon (DesperateHouseWife50)
    Tue Oct 03 11:27:45 CDT 2017
  • Great location (NiamhCrowley)
    Sun Sep 24 02:44:58 CDT 2017
Traveler Photos
Front Desk at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
The Suite at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Elements Restaurant at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Quay Side Bar at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Quay Side Bar at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

Carrie R
Waterford, Ireland

"Great location and Service"

Reviewed March 16, 2016     Trip type:  Business

I loved the location and view. The bed was very comfortable. I could not fault the Staff who were very courteous and helpful. Quality of the food was excellent and very good value with brilliant specials. This hotel is easy to find, nicely priced. I think it is good for both Business and Pleasure. I Would definitely stay again.

Read more  

Stayed April 2016

Rooms

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  March 25, 2016

Dear Carrie R, Thank you so much for taking the time to write in your review. I was delighted to read that you had a great time here and that you will return to us. Thank you also for the lovely comments about the staff. Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Victor O’Brien General Manager

Sean C
Dublin, Ireland

"Great value great hotel"

Reviewed August 29, 2015     Trip type:  Couples

We stayed in Radisson Athlone , excellent location ,the centre of the town with bars ,restaurant walks and river tours, The hotel offers great rooms, excellent spa good food friendly staff and always plenty to do . Athlone itself s well worth a visit you wont be disappointed

Read more  

Stayed September 2015

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  September 14, 2015

Dear Sean C Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide a review of your experience with us and for choosing to stay at our hotel .It is always great to receive positive feedback from our Guests especially regarding the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Sinead Marron General Manager

familydolan
County Kildare, Ireland

"Radisson Blu Stay"

Reviewed July 11, 2015     Trip type:  Business

I think the Radisson is a great hotel to stay in it is spacious and bright, the deck area is great and if the weather is good even better. They are 100% child friendly which is great and it certainly adds to the enjoyment of your stay the staff are amazing and the location is excellent. I have already made my booking and will be staying there again,

Read more  

Stayed July 2015

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  July 28, 2015

Dear familydolan We are delighted that you took the time to give us your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We always love to hear great comments about our staff and I will be sharing your comments with the team here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, Sinead Marron General Manager

Mark M
Athlone, Ireland

"Ideal location right in the heart of Athlone"

Reviewed April 15, 2015     Trip type:  Business

A great location, Staff are friendly. Rooms as per usual Radisson quality ( which is excellent) Would recommend to stay. Food is gone up here in the hotel, from the last time I stayed. Club carlson members should be looked after. Breakfast should also be included in price, even if its a cup of coffee and a scone. The only real negative is - Hotel is looking a little dated- Tv's , bathrooms etc.

Read more  

Stayed May 2015

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  April 23, 2015

Dear Mark M, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay at the Radisson Blu Athlone and for choosing to stay with the Radisson Blu at all time. It’s always a pleasure to hear feedback from our loyal customers and I will be passing along your comments to the team here. I do understand your disappointment regarding some aspects of our bedroom facilities. Currently, we are in the process of upgrading the bedroom facilities and I’m sure you can understand that it takes time to finish. We pride ourselves to be a part of the Club Carlson Loyalty Program and I’m glad to hear that you are already a member of Club Carlson. However, all the member benefits are strictly considered and set by Club Carlson. I will be sure to pass your comments to the Club Carlson team as it is always our aim to provide great service to all our customers. Once again, many thanks for your review and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Athlone very soon. Kind Regards, Sinead Marron General Manager

Anthony P

"management dont lisen"

Reviewed January 27, 2015     Trip type:  Couples

rooms to hot cant get chilled wine fridge broke last two years.location on river fantastic. athlone is a lovely place lots to do . walks along the river. Viking boat trips.one must have a visit to athlone castle.

Read more  

Stayed February 2015

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Sinead_Marron, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  April 10, 2015

Dear anthonypS1937NN, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay at the Radisson Blu Athlone. Our town has become well recognised as a destination for leisure travellers. With a wonderful array of bars, restaurants, shops, cultural and historical offerings both within walking and easy driving distance and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed some of these aspects to Athlone. However, I’m very disappointed to hear that the room was too warm for you and the fridge in your room was not working during you stay. I can assure you that this is not the standard we would hope to deliver to our guests here at the Radisson Blu Athlone. I will pass along your comments to our maintenance team and rectify this issue without delay. Many thanks for your review and I hope this will not deter you from visiting the hotel in the future and we really look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Sinead Marron General Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC