Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Reviews

See what other travellers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 1947 traveler reviews

#7 of 9 hotels in Athlone

Excellent

741

Very Good

624

Average

327

Poor

140

Terrible

115
Business
344
Couples
770
Solo travel
54
Family
371

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • Get a river view if possible. Otherwise you're overlooking a roof. (BBdesu)
    Mon Aug 13 07:26:37 CDT 2018
  • Try for a room over looking the river (TOPCAT010)
    Sun Aug 12 02:07:45 CDT 2018
  • Superb breakfast (fab homemade bread!) (andrewmpn)
    Tue Aug 07 06:21:53 CDT 2018
  • Book the room after they confirm there is not parties on it. (Alfonso M)
    Sun Aug 05 13:43:59 CDT 2018
  • The river view rooms would likely be the most pleasant (Kristin M)
    Sun Jul 29 09:17:49 CDT 2018
Traveler Photos
Front Desk at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
The Suite at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Elements Restaurant at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Quay Side Bar at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Quay Side Bar at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

88william

"Two Night Break"

Reviewed September 20, 2018     Trip type:  Couples

This was our first visit to Athlone and we chose the Radisson Blu because of past experience with other Radisson Blu hotels. The hotel is ideally situated close to the town centre (Just a nice walk away), yet far enough away to be quiet and relaxed. We found the staff helpful and friendly as were the town's folk. The Bistro food was good but limited menu and as our stay was midweek the main restaurant wasn't open during our stay. The breakfast was excellent and staff more than friendly and helpful. We had a lovely room overlooking the river and it made our stay in Athlone very memorable.

Read more  

Stayed September 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

samanthazoconnor
Dublin, Ireland

"AMAZING"

Reviewed September 18, 2018     Trip type:  Family

Wow this hotel is just fantastic. The staff are very pleasant and extremely helpful. The family rooms are so special our kids received free hot chocolate delivered to the room they were so happy. Breakfast is out of this world. Will be back to stay here as soon as we can x

Read more  

Stayed September 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

pshively959
Snoqualmie, Washington

"Great Stay in Athlone, Ireland"

Reviewed September 17, 2018     Trip type:  Couples

The hotel gets high marks for location, convenience to train station, and especially the service of Brian at the front desk. He really took care of a lot of details for our excursions. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Towels were a bit small and worn, but worked just fine. Service in the bar was a bit lacking, but we had a great time anyway. Fitness center was very good. Would definitely stay here again.

Read more  

Stayed September 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  September 18, 2018

Dear pshively959, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Brian will be delighted with your lovely comment. I will share your feedback with the team and we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan General Manager

johnelarkin
County Laois, Ireland

"Couple with a Three year old and a One year old."

Reviewed September 16, 2018     Trip type:  Family

Ideal for couples. Not brilliant for people with small kids. Wedding function room is beside the lift area and there is double doors into the function area that are left open which means noise travels out to the lift area and up the lifts and around the hotel late at night. We were on the fifth floor and found it very hard to get the kids back to sleep at 1.30am with the noise. The pool is designed for adults and not for kids. No gradual steps into it. Very clean and well run hotel but geared for couples and not families.

Read more  

Stayed September 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Fergus O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review  September 18, 2018

Dear johnelarkin, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I am disappointed on this occasion that we did not meet the standard that you expected. Since we are fully aware of the importance of a restful nights sleep, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused. I will certainly share your valued feedback with our management team and we do hope to welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Athlone. Kind regards, Fergus O'Donovan

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC