Please be aware that there are building works currently in progress next to the hotel. Rest assured that none of our hotel services and in-house facilities are affected.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham

Reviews

See what other travellers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 2881 traveler reviews

#10 of 19 hotels in Durham

Excellent

1211

Very Good

1094

Average

389

Poor

124

Terrible

63
Business
532
Couples
1375
Solo travel
101
Family
398

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • Choose a river view room if possible but beware of premium pricing. (longhaulfromlondon)
    Sat Jul 07 21:45:11 CDT 2018
  • We had room 212 which had a lovely view. (joeysel)
    Tue Jul 03 05:40:16 CDT 2018
  • Rooms facing canal are quiet (Sarahmiso)
    Thu Jun 21 01:16:35 CDT 2018
  • Furthest away from building site (HungrySal)
    Tue Jun 19 10:18:06 CDT 2018
  • 4th floor rooms large and quiet (MytripsLincolnshire)
    Tue Jun 19 05:00:50 CDT 2018
Traveler Photos
Hotel Exterior
Suite Room
Business class room
Business class room

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

Gillian L

"Birthday treat"

Reviewed July 04, 2018     Trip type:  Couples

This was our third visit to the Radisson in Durham. 1st visit was very good but 2nd one had a lot of problems,which were not rectified but we thought we would try again as is in a very good location.I requested in advance a walk in shower rather than shower over the bath.On arrival asked again and was told yes we had walk in shower.However this was not the case so had to go back to reception and was told that should be a room with a walk in shower.Really ! Do they not know the hotel layout at reception.However we were immediately changed to the correct room which was lovely and we had no problems and a lovely view over the river.In our previous visit we got no sleep as the shower fan gos all night long, although reception insist the all turn off automatically I no this is still not the case in some rooms. We stayed business class which gave us free parking,3 drinks and nibbles.We did not think they were as good as last time.Breakfast was very good,sausages are amazing,but don't bother with the toaster it takes ages.Would consider staying again as long as I got a quiet room

Read more  

Stayed July 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

sylvia172
King's Lynn, United Kingdom

"Return to Durham"

Reviewed July 03, 2018     Trip type:  Family

Was quite disappointed with this Hotel. It looked lovely but, on arrival, I found it very clinical - the atrium/reception is not very welcoming. and was more in keeping with an airport. The bar area doesn't encourage you to stay and the price of drinks was high. I was also charged £9 per night for parking - something I have never come across before except in central London. The rooms were fine but the bedding was hard and lumpy. Breakfasts were very good and the breakfast staff efficient and friendly. Would choose a different hotel if visiting Durham again.

Read more  

Stayed June 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

goasIplease
Cheshire, United Kingdom

"Centrally located hotel with no frills"

Reviewed June 26, 2018     Trip type:  Business

Stayed here for two nights for a training course. Receptionists were welcoming but after that it was fend for yourself. Breakfast a disappointment. It takes self-service to a whole new level as you even have to put the tea bag in the teapot. Coffee is served but was pretty awful. Hotel is spotlessly clean. Rooms are spacious with a fridge. Milk in the fridge would be good as little plastic pots were horrid. No complimentary biscuits, no bottled water just the basics which was fine if it was a budget hotel. Bathroom fans are turned off centrally at 9.00pm ish. Ours seemed to be on all night but not sure if it was bathroom or outside the door. At any rate we mentioned it at reception and following night it was still whirring away. The hotel has a pool (didn't use) and a dark bar area off reception. Bit like being in a train station with all the coming and going. This is an okay hotel - just nothing special but if you are travelling solo it would be ideal as you could blend in quite seemlessly.

Read more  

Stayed June 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Tom H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review  June 30, 2018

Dear goalsplease, Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. Please be assured this is not reflective of our usual high standard of service we endeavour to offer to our valued guests, all comments are taken with the highest priority from our guests as we rely on you to be able to deliver the consistent high standard expected from Radisson BLU. Kind regards Tom Front Office Manager

Kishore G P
Preston, United Kingdom

"Leisure trip"

Reviewed June 23, 2018     Trip type:  Family

Excellent . Great location. Friendly staff. Good rooms. Good breakfast Nice bar free glass of prosecco was welcome. Would stay again. Special place for us as we went to watch England beat Aussies in cricket.

Read more  

Stayed June 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Tom H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review  June 24, 2018

Dear Kishore G P, Thank you for your feedback I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Radisson BLU Durham. Please be assured your comments have been passed over to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Tom Front Office Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC