Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Reviews

See what other travelers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 903 traveler reviews

#27 of 133 hotels in Salzburg

Excellent

345

Very Good

309

Average

136

Poor

70

Terrible

43
Business
70
Couples
426
Solo travel
34
Family
205

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • Ask for a room facing the river (Donny-Melbourne)
    Wed Jul 04 14:51:18 CDT 2018
  • Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard patio. (Showme_10)
    Sat May 26 02:51:15 CDT 2018
  • The only recommendation I have is, if you can’t climb into a bath, make sure you get a room with a walk in shower. (Therese H)
    Thu Feb 22 15:16:23 CST 2018
  • Avoid rooms overlooking the river if you want sleep. (gbeck4gb)
    Mon Jan 29 07:39:27 CST 2018
  • Book well ahead to get the rooms you want if you are travelling with kids. (tantone1)
    Sat Jan 27 11:30:13 CST 2018
Traveler Photos
Lobby at the Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
The Superior Guest Room at the Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Cafe at the Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Inner Courtyard at the Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Street at the Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

timeischens
San Francisco, California

"Great stay at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg"

Reviewed June 04, 2018     Trip type:  Friends getaway

From the moment we arrived until we departed, the staff, hotel, and amenities were wonderful. You pay a little more for this very conveniently and accessible site, but it is worth it. The hotel is located a 3 minute walk to Mozartplatz. The breakfast was wonderful and beautiful overlooking the Salzach River. The staff helped us book train tickets (don't forget to pay the extra $5E for a reserved seat) to Vienna for a trip home. I will definitely be returning to this hotel!

Read more  

Stayed May 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Altstadt_Direktion, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg, responded to this review  June 05, 2018

Dear timeischens! Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. It was very nice to welcome you at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt. We are more than delighted to learn that you liked your overall stay with us. Even more it is nice that you enjoyed our amenities as well as that you had an excellent start in the day with our Super Breakfast. With great pleasure we will share your very kind feedback with the entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt and thank you for your recommendation to other travellers. Kind regards from the City of Mozart, Albert Graf General Manager

mailfoulkes
Cardiff, United Kingdom

"Nice hotel but definitely not a 5 star"

Reviewed April 09, 2018     Trip type:  Family

A very pleasant historic hotel exceptionally well located in the centre of the old town. Excellent reception team on duty. Our rooms and bathrooms were both clean, of very good proportion for a city centre hotel and adequately equipped for a comfortable leisure visit. However very hot trying to sleep as the air conditioning units had been deactivated and our windows could not be left open because of the noise and cigarette smoke from the narrow street and cafe/bar below. Breakfast was of a good standard although at times the standard of service lacked the professionalism you would have expected from staff waiting on.

Read more  

Stayed April 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Altstadt_Direktion, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg, responded to this review  April 09, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having chosen Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt for your Salzburg visit. We want to thank you for your positive feedback especially about the friendliness of our reception team. It is also very nice to learn that you liked the unique history of our hotel in den city center of Salzburg as well as the spacious and comfortable guest-room. On the other hand we are very sorry that we did not meet complately your satisfaction. Of course we will follow up very carefully on your remarks to prevent any future occurrence. We kindly allow us to apologize for any inconvenience you have had experienced. Regarding the aír conditioning allow us to mention that the units activated right now for the warm season of the year. Once again thank you for your time to share your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you another time back to our property. Kind regards, Albert Graf General Manager

Gabrielle S
New York City, New York

"Clean, modern and well-appointed"

Reviewed January 02, 2018     Trip type:  Couples

This is a gem of a hotel in the Altstadt. It's located very well, of course, but it's also clean, modern and very well-appointed. The rooms are well represented online and the prices are incredibly fair. Our only complaint was the classic (infernal) European split foundation/mattress arrangement of the "king" size bed. It continues to be an uncomfortable way for a couple to sleep. If only the hotel would modernize the beds, then this hotel would be the best hotel in the Altstadt - no questions.

Read more  

Stayed December 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Altstadt_Direktion, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg, responded to this review  January 07, 2018

Dear Gabriele S! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt. It was a great honour to welcome you at our hotel and we are more than happy that you were generally satisfied with the experienced service and quality. We will also thank you for your note regarding the bedding, of course we will follow up on this issue. Dear Gabriele S thank you once more for your wunderful feedback, with pleasure I will forward this to the entire team. We are looking forward to welcome you back at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt in the near future. Albert Graf General Manager

Gertie03
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom

"3 nights for Christmas markets"

Reviewed December 19, 2017     Trip type:  Family

We stayed in room 410. The room was larger than expected, and was elegant. The view was fairly good and partly of the street outside. Room 408 was slightly smaller with beautiful beams and a fantastic view of the street. That was allocated to the other people in our party. There were a few small niggles, such as the safe already being locked when got in the room. We asked reception to open it so that we could use it but it was not opened. We did mention this when we checked out. There was a little bit of dust on one shelf, but otherwise clean. The bath is a little old and tired, as the surface is a little rough. The beds were was incredibly comfortable, but we we disappointed that it was two singles and not a double as booked. The room was extremely hot, but as the air conditioning did not appear to work, we opened the windows. The breakfast was excellent and even satisfied the vegetarian! However, we had an evening meal at the restaurant one evening and were disappointed that the portions were so small although the quality was on the whole good. The vegetarian risotto was over salted and the portion was extremely small, but otherwise good. The dessert was excellent but unbelievably small. On the whole the hotel was lovely and very god value for money. We previously stayed at the Sacher, and feel that the Aldstat was better value for money. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would book it again.

Read more  

Stayed December 2017

Altstadt_Direktion, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg, responded to this review  January 07, 2018

Dear Gertie03! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt Salzburg. We thank you very much indeed for your positive feedback as well as that you were satisfied with your guest room as well as with our extensive buffet breakfast, the vegetarian options and that you liked the location in general. On the other hand we are very sorry that there was some issues. Please kindly allow us to appologize for that. Of course we will follow up very carefully on your mentioned remarks. Dear Gertie03, thank you once more for your comments and for your honest recommendation to other travelers. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Salzburg and we can assure you that we will do our very best to provide you again with an amazing and unforgettable experience. With kind regards and all the best for the year 2018, Albert Graf General Manager

wannaseestuff
Essex

"Great location, lovely hotel and friendly staff"

Reviewed December 06, 2017     Trip type:  Couples

Super friendly staff, wonderful hotel. Under £20 euros taxi ride from the airport and a 2 minute walk to the markets. Would definitely return. I took my husband for his birthday and the staff laid out a lovely spread complimentary for his birthday which was so lovely and kind.

Read more  

Stayed December 2017

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC