Radisson Blu Polar Hotel Spitsbergen

Reviews

See what other travelers think about our hotel. By incorporating Tripadvisor onto our page, it is now easier for guests to both review and research their trip, worldwide. On this page you will find reviews on Radisson Blu Polar Hotel Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen and how our guests have rated us. We hope you will find the reviews helpful when planning your next trip with us. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming you!

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

Based on 711 traveler reviews

#3 of 4 hotels in Longyearbyen

Excellent

158

Very Good

342

Average

161

Poor

32

Terrible

18
Business
100
Couples
272
Solo travel
90
Family
93

Location

Sleep Quality

Rooms

Service

Value

Cleanliness

Traveler tips help you choose the right room. Room Tips(5)
  • They do have a few superior / suite rooms if you are here for longer than a short stopoever (Sue149)
    Fri Jul 06 02:40:08 CDT 2018
  • try to be in the main hotel building. (Steve K)
    Fri Jun 29 22:59:44 CDT 2018
  • Ask for a room on the level of the reception area as there is no elevator. (Felicite F)
    Tue Feb 06 03:34:31 CST 2018
  • Our room was pretty old. I have heard that there are remodeled rooms available. Ask about that. (Doug_from_Chicago)
    Wed Oct 25 10:58:55 CDT 2017
  • Rooms at the back overlook the sea with better views on the higher floors (Cliff J)
    Wed Oct 25 06:14:54 CDT 2017
Traveler Photos
Radisson Blu Polarhotel under the beautiful blue hour
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel on a lovely winter day
Connecting room
Playful menu based on local ingredients.

Recent Reviews:

Language:
Sort by:

jennierichardson76
Llanberis

"Great customer service"

Reviewed May 07, 2018     Trip type:  Family

Hotel was great and team there really helpful. Daily specials in the bar are good. I’d love to see the ditch the environmentally unfriendly ‘nespresso’ machines in bedrooms, too much unnecessary plastic waste.

Read more  

Stayed May 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Hurtigruten S, Reception at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this review  May 09, 2018

Hi, And thank you for your nice review. It's very funny that you mention the plastic waste, I don't know if you have read about Hurtigruten in the news? All of Hurtigrutens ships and hotels are actually getting rid of all disposable plastic! Maybe the next time you're visiting you'll notice that there isn't any disposable plastic in the hotel! All in general I hope you had a nice stay in Svalbard, and that you got to take advantage of the beatiful nature. Maybe you did get to meet some friendly reindeers? Hope we get to see you again, you're always welcome. Best regards, Lisa

Cliff E
UK

"Great Hotel in a stunning location"

Reviewed April 12, 2018     Trip type:  Friends getaway

Enjoyed our stay , reception team in particular very helpful and recommend Barentz Bar as a place with a great atmosphere, good food and drink. Breakfast good but didn't use the main restaurant otherwise. Good links with local activities and easy to organise from Hotel.

Read more  

Stayed April 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

wrober207034

"Expensive, but comes with the location"

Reviewed April 12, 2018     Trip type:  Friends getaway

One of the better hotels in the area, great bar and hot tub area. Excellent bar staff and really good pizzas and burgers. Rooms are small and dated, and probably not the best value for your money, but good place to stay.

Read more  

Stayed April 2018

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

Bjørn H
Oslo, Norway

"Facinaring locacation and a good hotel"

Reviewed July 02, 2016     Trip type:  Friends getaway

The best about the hotel is that it is situated in fascinating Longyearbyen. The hotel is located between the University center and the very impressive new museum on one side and the "center of the town" with restaurants, bars and shops on the other side. The hotel building is low and friendly, the reception is open and welcoming and the rooms are well functioning and equipped with curtains that keep the daylight completely out. The bath room has both a bath tub and shower. Excellent breakfast. I will definitely also stay there next time I visit Longyearbyen.

Read more  

Stayed June 2016

Value

Cleanliness

Service

nirajg
London

"only decent option in longyearbyen"

Reviewed June 01, 2015     Trip type:  Family

ok hotel - basic facilities - boring breakfast after 3 to 4 days - overall safe - supportive staff - rooms should be better - curtains really need to be darker especially during midnight sun period - absolutely nothing to do in the hotel apart form the pub.

Read more  

Stayed May 2015

Rooms

Value

Sleep Quality

Location

Cleanliness

Service

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

©2016 TripAdvisor LLC